Legislation has been passed that will affect employers in California, Arizona and Colorado. Below is a breakdown of how the minimum wage laws will affect all Western Growers members.


In 2016, SB 3 was signed to gradually increase the minimum wage in California to $15 per hour by 2022. Beginning January 1, 2018, employers with 26 or more employees will be required to pay non-overtime-exempt employees $11.00 per hour while businesses with 25 or fewer employees will have to pay their non-exempt employees $10.50 per hour.

The Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act does not require an employer to pay out an employee’s unused earned paid sick time (PST) at the end of each year or at separation. Employers may choose to pay out unused earned PST at the end of the employer’s year or at separation.

However, an employer who elects to pay an employee for unused earned PST at the end of the employer’s year must comply with the requirements of Arizona Revised Statutes § 23-372(D)(4). That section of the statue requires the following:

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s (FMCSA) Electronic Logging Device (ELD’s) rule is scheduled to go into effect on December 18, 2017, requiring commercial drivers to maintain hours-of-service logs electronically instead of using handwritten logs. However, in recent days, FMCSA has announced a 90-day waiver from the ELD requirement for agriculture, pending the publication of formal guidance to the agricultural industry in the Federal Register.

Ken Gilliland


Work Place Regulations

Labor shortages and work place regulations are critical issues for our industry and our employees.

Join Western Growers

Western Growers members care deeply for the food they grow, the land they sustain, the people they employ, and the community in which they live. 

Work Place Regulations Archive