The California Department of Industrial Relations released a Frequently Asked Questions guidance document to address specific questions relating to SB 3, the new minimum wage law that takes effect on January 1, 2017.
The FAQs include information about what minimum wage rate applies to your workplace (as it relates to the number of employees), the schedule for the new state minimum wage increases and more. The FAQ guidance can be found here.
The first increase will take effect on January 1, 2017, starting at $10/hour for employers with 25 employees or less and $10.50/hour for employers with 26 employees or more. The last scheduled increase will be on January 1, 2023, at $15/hour for all employers.
For additional inquiries about SB 3, please contact your legal counsel.
Start Growing Today
Farming has never been more challenging, which is why Western Growers invests in fully committed advocates – your advocates – in Sacramento, Phoenix, and Washington, D.C. Only Western Growers offers members so many business services, supported by more than 400 dedicated employees.