On September 25, 2013, the Governor signed AB 10 into law. Effective July 1, 2014, AB 10 raises the California minimum wage to $9.00 per hour and $10.00 per hour, starting January 1, 2016. The state has released updated California Minimum Wage posters in English and Spanish.

In addition to ensuring that non-exempt employees are paid at least the state minimum wage and posting the new minimum wage poster, employers are advised to review salaries of certain exempt employees to ensure that they meet the “salary basis” test.  For employees to be classified as exempt from overtime, they must be paid on a salary basis and earn a monthly salary equivalent to at least twice the state minimum wage for full-time employment.  After July 1, exempt employees will have to be paid the equivalent of at least $18.00 per hour on a 40-hour work week.

Jason Resnick

This week, the California Assembly will vote on a labor union-sponsored bill that would create joint liability for growers who use farm labor contractors.   Western Growers is part of a large coalition working to stop AB 1897 (Hernandez, D-West Covina).  We strongly urge you to contact your Assembly member to urge him/her to vote against this bill.  Use the Western Growers Grassroots Action Center to submit your opposition to this legislation.

Matthew Allen

Pages

Legislative

Join Western Growers

Western Growers members care deeply for the food they grow, the land they sustain, the people they employ, and the community in which they live.