For employers with 26 or more employees, California’s minimum wage will go up from $10 per hour to $10.50 on January 1, 2017, pursuant to SB 3. This in turn will raise the California white collar exemption rate to $43,680 per year. The minimum wage will increase each year until the wage reaches $15 per hour in 2022. Employers with 25 or fewer employees get a one year delay for the phase-in.

AB 1847, which was signed into law on September 12, 2016, amends California’s Revenue and Taxation Code by requiring employers that that were previously required to notify employees of their eligibility for the federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) to also notify them that they may be eligible for the California Earned Income Tax Credit.

The notice furnished to employees regarding the availability of the federal and the California EITC must specifically read as follows:

Jeff Janas

Pages

Work Place Regulations

Labor shortages and work place regulations are critical issues for our industry and our employees.

Join Western Growers

Western Growers members care deeply for the food they grow, the land they sustain, the people they employ, and the community in which they live. 

Work Place Regulations Archive