For employers with 26 or more employees, California’s minimum wage will go up from $10 per hour to $10.50 on January 1, 2017, pursuant to SB 3. This in turn will raise the California white collar exemption rate to $43,680 per year. The minimum wage will increase each year until the wage reaches $15 per hour in 2022. Employers with 25 or fewer employees get a one year delay for the phase-in.
In Arizona, passage of The Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act (Proposition 206) means the minimum wage will increase for all employers from $8.05 per hour to $10 January 1, 2017. The minimum wage will increase each year until it reaches $12 in 2020. The ballot initiative’s paid sick leave component goes into effect July 1, 2017.
Colorado voters approved the $12 Minimum Wage Amendment (Amendment 70), raising the minimum wage from $8.31 to $9.30 per hour January 1, 2017. The state minimum wage will increase by 90 cents each year until the wage reaches $12 in 2020.
For more information, contact Jason Resnick at (949) 885-2318.
Join Western Growers
Western Growers members care deeply for the food they grow, the land they sustain, the people they employ, and the community in which they live.