On August 15, California Governor Gavin Newsom signed Senate Bill (SB) 778, which updates the state’s sexual harassment training requirements. This law is an amendment to SB 1343.
With this new law, employers with five or more employees are required to provide the following:
- A minimum of 2 hours of training and education regarding sexual harassment to all supervisory employees
- And at least 1 hour of training and education regarding sexual harassment to all nonsupervisory employees in California within six months of their assumption of a position.
SB 778 permits employers who have provided training to an employee in 2019 to offer a “refresher” training to that employee two years thereafter (rather than the January 2021 deadline). This will avoid forcing employers who have already provided compliant training from having to do so twice in a single two-year period.
However, this would not be the case for employers who provided training in 2018. Employers with five or more employees who provided training in 2018 must provide sexual harassment prevention training and education by January 1, 2021, and thereafter once every 2 years.
Western Growers offers its members supervisory training through both public and private sessions. Supervisors can participate in one of our upcoming Public Sessions:
- Imperial: October 17th
- Fresno: November 7th
- Modesto: November 12th
- Santa Maria: November 19th
- Bakersfield: November 25th
- Tulare: November 26th
Please contact Anna Bilderbach at (949) 379-3889 for additional information including scheduling and pricing.
Start Growing Today
Farming has never been more challenging, which is why Western Growers invests in fully committed advocates – your advocates – in Sacramento, Phoenix, and Washington, D.C. Only Western Growers offers members so many business services, supported by more than 400 dedicated employees.