Arizona voters passed Proposition 206 (the “Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act”) which raises the minimum wage in Arizona from $8.05 per hour to $10.00 per hour on January 1, 2017, and incrementally over the next four years to $12 per hour. Then, the minimum wage will increase with the cost of living starting in 2021.
In addition, the initiative mandates employers provide their employees with paid sick time (PST) beginning July 1, 2017. All full-time, part-time and temporary employees must be allowed to accrue a minimum of one hour of PST for every 30 hours worked as follows:
- 40 hours of PST annually for employers with 15 or more employees; or
- 24 hours of PST for employers with fewer than 15 employees.
Western Growers has prepared a more comprehensive summary and FAQ of Prop. 206 here. Read Spotlight for announcements of additional educational opportunities pertaining to Prop. 206 to be offered by WG early next year.
For questions, contact Jason Resnick at (949) 885-2253.