October 1, 2020

Housing for Harvest Program Welcomes Two Additional Counties

Today, the California Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA) announced the expansion of the Housing for the Harvest Program to Sacramento and San Luis Obispo counties. With the addition of these counties, ten California counties are now participating in the program: Sacramento, San Luis Obispo, Kern, Madera, Kings, Riverside, Tulare, Santa Barbara, Fresno and San Joaquin.

As previously reported in Spotlight, Housing For The Harvest is a program initiated by Governor Gavin Newsom that provides temporary hotel housing options for agricultural workers to self-isolate after testing positive for COVID-19 but do not require hospitalization.

Housing for the Harvest will ultimately be made available statewide and provide opt-in housing support for any counties or regions that are interested.